13 Book Series to Read if You Loved the Hunger Games ...

By Lauren

13 Book Series to Read if You Loved the Hunger Games ...

Have you been feeling an emptiness inside of you ever since you finished The Hunger Games series and now you're wondering what you should read next? Well you're not alone! Since finishing The Hunger Games series, I have been having such trouble finding a new book series to get into because nothing has come close to how great reading The Hunger Games was! So I'm on a mission to help all of you, and myself, find a new book series similar to The Hunger Games that we can love just as much. Follow me as we go through 13 book series to read if you loved The Hunger Games!

1 The Divergent Series

The "Divergent Series" written by Veronica Roth is a great starting point in finding a book series similar to The Hunger Games. (Personally, I started reading this one first and it's really good so far!) There are only two books published so far in this series, called "Divergent" and "Insurgent," but a third is expected to be released in 2013! In this Dystopian book series, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. The factions are Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, every sixteen-year-old must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. In the beginning of the series, Beatrice has to choose between staying with her family or being who she really is. Later, war looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grow. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more powerful! This is a great page turning series that will leave you wanting more just as The Hunger Games series did! Plus, the main love interest is much more of a bad boy than Peeta, which is a nice change of pace.

2 The Uglies Series

The "Uglies Series" written by Scott Westerfeld is another Dystopian series with a unique societal structure. When everyone in this world turns sixteen, they are forced to undergo an operation that turns them from a repellent "ugly" into a stunningly attractive "pretty." However, the operation creates lesions in the brain that prevents dispute, anger, creativity, and wanting to be different. People of the town thought this was a good thing though, because it would prevent war and anger. The main character Tally is about to turn sixteen and is excited to become a "pretty" until she meets another "ugly" named Shay. Shay tells her of a rebel group that has a hidden refuge and Tally slowly learns about a whole new side of the pretty world that isn't very pretty! There are four books to the series which include "Uglies," "Pretties," "Specials," and "Extras."

3 The Matched Series

The "Matched Series" written by Ally Condie is another Dystopian book series similar to The Hunger Games, in that it concentrates on a society that makes decisions for everyone it governs. They tell you what to read, what to watch, what to believe, and even who you marry. The series' main character Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her, so when Xander's face appears on-screen at her matching ceremony, Cassia knows that he is her ideal mate. But then, she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it's a glitch but Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky. As they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's decisions and is faced with choosing between Xander and Ky, and following a path that no one else has dared to follow. There are three books to the series which include "Matched," "Crossed," and "Reached."

4 The Delirium Series

The "Delirium Series" written by Lauren Oliver is a special series in that it revolves around a world without love. In this series, scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive "the cure" upon turning eighteen. The main character Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. She was taught to believe that a life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy. But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable and falls in love! There are three books to the series which include "Delirium," "Pandemonium," and "Requiem." Also, there are two "half" novels in the series called "Hana" and "Annabel."

5 The Giver Series

The "Giver Quartet" series by Lois Lowry is set in a society which at first seems to be a Utopian society but gradually appears more and more Dystopian. This society has eliminated war, fear, and pain by converting to "Sameness," which in turn has ended any form of emotional depth from people. In the beginning of the series, Jonas is selected to inherit the position of "Receiver of Memory," the person who stores all the past memories of the time before "Sameness," in case they are ever needed to aid in decisions that others lack the experience to make. As Jonas receives the memories from the previous "Receiver of Memory," the Giver, he discovers the power of knowledge. The people in his community are happy because they do not know of a better life, but the knowledge of what they are missing out on could create major chaos. He faces a dilemma: Should he stay with the community and his family, living a shallow life without love, color, choices, and knowledge, or should he run away to where he can live a full life? There are four novels in this best selling series, and each book has a different main character to follow in this future society. The titles are "The Giver," "Gathering Blue," "Messenger," and "Son."

6 The Mortal Instruments Series

This is a book series similar to The Hunger Games in that it has a movie coming out soon! So try to read this series before the movie comes out in 2013! The "Mortal Instruments" series by Cassandra Clare is a great series for those of you who love magic, creatures, and fantasy adventures. Clary Fray witnesses what she believes is a murder but finds out it was really her first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, an extremely attractive Shadowhunter. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world when her mother disappears and Clary suddenly gets "The Sight" and can see all Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries! So far, there are five books in this series including "City of Bones," "City of Ashes," "City of Glass," City of Fallen Angels," and "City of Lost Souls." There is a sixth book that is expected out in 2014 called "City of Heavenly Fire."

7 The Caster Chronicles

The "Caster Chronicles" written by Kami Garcia is narrated by the main male character of the story, Ethan Wate, rather then the usual trend of the main female character narrator. Ethan has strange dreams about a girl he has never met, dreams that left physical evidence like dirt on his bed, water around him, and even a song on his iPod. When Lena Duchannes moves into town, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her. Despite Lena’s attempts to push him away, Ethan is determined to find out the connection between them, and help her to blend in. But in the town of Gatlin, it’s never easy to fit in, especially if you have a secret as big as Lena’s. If you want even more insight into this series, look up the "Beautiful Creatures" movie trailer, as the movie is due in theaters Feburary 13, 2013. I know the plot summary is vague but I don't want to give away too much! There are four books to the series which include "Beautiful Creatures," "Beautiful Darkness," "Beautiful Chaos," and "Beautiful Redemption." There is also a "half" novel in the series called "Dream Dark."

8 The Maze Runner

This is another dystopian novel that's about a boy rather than a girl, unlike most of the popular books in this genre. The heat is on as soon as the young boys in James Dashner’s novel, with no memory of their pasts, find themselves in an isolated community near a treacherous maze. Their on-the-edge lifestyle will have you on the edge of your seat, clutching the pages until they wrinkle! It's especially perfect for Hunger Games fans and just hit theaters this summer!

9 The Lunar Chronicles

Do you love fairy tales or post-apocalyptic stories more? Well, you don't have to choose when you read this riveting series! If you loved the Hunger Games series, you're basically guaranteed to love the "Lunar Chronicles". Marissa Mayer's series delves into a future where a deadly plague has taken over the Earth. In the first book, a lowly cyborg falls for a dashing prince! Sound like Cinderella to anyone? The following books focus on some women who look a lot like Little Red Riding Hood and Rapunzel. Although, none of these women are the damsels in distress you once knew them as!

10 Legend

Marie Lu's bestselling series Legend is sure to capture your attention! Want some political struggle? You've got it! Want dystopia? Check! Love a good old tale of murder and revenge? Look no further than "Legend", where people from two completely different worlds come together to overcome their differences and complete a mission of the utmost importance.

11 Partials

"Partials" by Dan Wells was basically written for Hunger Games fans with a love for extremely science fiction novels! "Partials" takes place far in the future, where the world is inhabited by scarce pockets of humans and overpopulated by engineered humans called "Partials." But what will happen when it turns out that the cure to the virus that continuously kills of humans can only be found through the aid of Partials? Kira, a teenage med student, must face unforseen challenges in an attempt to keep the human race alive!

12 Lorien Legacies

You may have seen the first movie a few years ago, starring Alex Pettyfer. But author Pittacus Lore did not stop his series there! Continue the adventure, whether you've already seen "I Am Number Four" or not! If you loved The Hunger Games, you're certain to love this tale about isolated aliens living as humans among us, struggling to survive and fit in.

13 Wool

They tell us that what we don't know can hurt us. But what if what you don't know is what could save you? The corrupt government in this dystopian novel has convinced its citizens that they must live underground, and that any serious crime warrants being exiled to Earth's surface, a toxic, deadly environment. Sheriff Holston, who is sick and tired of this looming fear, does the unprecedented and asks to go to the surface. What he discovers surprises him and will certainly surprise you!

Hopefully one of these book series will have you hooked and help you to forget about The Hunger Games being over. I don't know about all of you, but I intend to read every single one of these book series similar to The Hunger Games! If you have read one of these already, please leave your feedback in the comments below! Or, if you have another series that you think was just as good or even better than The Hunger Games, make sure to share for all of us fellow book lovers!

This article was written in collaboration with editor Sabrina Yates.

Please rate this article

More